Mini split guides, one page per model

Every unit here has been measured against the median for its own capacity class, and every one is checked against its own coverage claim — the arithmetic the listing leaves for you to do.

These pages exist because a specification means little on its own. A 12,000 BTU head is not simply smaller than an 18,000 BTU one; whether it is the right size depends on a room this site cannot see, and the most useful thing that can be said from here is whether the listing’s own two numbers — the capacity and the coverage it advertises — agree with each other. Frequently they do not.

We do not install mini splits and nobody here holds an HVAC licence. Every figure is read from the manufacturer’s listing, the sizing check is arithmetic on two figures the same listing publishes, and where a listing is silent the page says not stated.

All 32 guides

9,000 BTU Mini Splits

9,000 BTU units with a guide of their own.
Unit Capacity Coverage claimed BTU/sq ft
ROVSUN 9000 BTU Mini Split 9,000 BTU 450 sq ft 20.0
Mountman 9000 BTU Mini Split 9,000 BTU 450 sq ft 20.0
Rellytech Mini Split AC/Heating 9,000 BTU 450 sq ft 20.0
Senville LETO Mini Split Air 9,000 BTU 400 sq ft 22.5
COSTWAY 9000BTU Mini Split Air 9,000 BTU 450 sq ft 20.0
9000 BTU Mini Split AC & Heating 9,000 BTU 450 sq ft 20.0

12,000 BTU Mini Splits

12,000 BTU units with a guide of their own.
Unit Capacity Coverage claimed BTU/sq ft
DELLA Vario Series 12000 BTU Mini 12,000 BTU 550 sq ft 21.8
DELLA Vario Series 12000 BTU Mini 12,000 BTU 550 sq ft 21.8
Albott Easy DIY Series 12,000 BTU 750 sq ft 16.0
Albott Easy DIY Series 12,000 BTU 750 sq ft 16.0
12000 BTU Mini Split Air 12,000 BTU 750 sq ft 16.0
Senville LETO Mini Split Air 12,000 BTU 700 sq ft 17.1
Senville LETO Mini Split Air 12,000 BTU 700 sq ft 17.1

18,000 BTU Mini Splits

18,000 BTU units with a guide of their own.
Unit Capacity Coverage claimed BTU/sq ft
DELLA Motto Series 18000 BTU 19 18,000 BTU 1,000 sq ft 18.0
18000BTU Mini Split Air Conditioner 18,000 BTU 1,250 sq ft 14.4
Daikin 18,000 BTU 1,000 sq ft 18.0
COSTWAY 18,000 BTU 1,250 sq ft 14.4
Wifi Enabled 18,000 BTU 1,250 sq ft 14.4
YITAHOME 21 SEER2 18000 BTU Mini 18,000 BTU 1,250 sq ft 14.4
Rellytech Mini Split AC/Heating 18,000 BTU 1,250 sq ft 14.4

24,000 BTU Mini Splits

24,000 BTU units with a guide of their own.
Unit Capacity Coverage claimed BTU/sq ft
ROVSUN 28000 BTU Tri Zone Mini 28,000 BTU 750 sq ft 37.3
DELLA 28K BTU ODU Mini Split AC 3 28,000 BTU 1,350 sq ft 20.7
Albott Mini Split AC/Heating 21,000 BTU 950 sq ft 22.1
Daikin 23,000 BTU 1,500 sq ft 15.3
YITAHOME 23 SEER2 24K BTU 3 Zone 24,000 BTU 1,200 sq ft 20.0
DELLA 20K BTU Dual Zone Mini Split 20,000 BTU 1,400 sq ft 14.3
Albott 2 Zone Mini Split AC/Heating 24,000 BTU 1,100 sq ft 21.8
Senville LETO Mini Split Air 24,000 BTU 1,250 sq ft 19.2
Cooper & Hunter 24,000 BTU 600 sq ft 40.0

36,000 BTU Mini Splits

36,000 BTU units with a guide of their own.
Unit Capacity Coverage claimed BTU/sq ft
DELLA 35K BTU 4 Zone Mini Split AC 35,000 BTU 1,750 sq ft 20.0
ROVSUN 38000 BTU Quad Zone WIFI 38,000 BTU — —
Albott 3 Zone Mini Split AC/Heating 30,000 BTU 400 sq ft 75.0

What is in each guide

The same six things, in the same order, so two guides can be read against each other without hunting for the figure that moved. First, everything the listing publishes, in one table — capacity, claimed coverage, SEER2, indoor noise, supply voltage, circuit type, refrigerant, and whether it heats as well as cools. Alongside them sits the figure that is not on any listing: the BTU per square foot its own two headline numbers imply.

Second, that check worked out in the open, against a rule of thumb of roughly 20 BTU per square foot. This is the section these pages exist for, and it is also the section that is easiest to overstate, so it is bounded explicitly: it tells you when a seller’s two numbers contradict each other, and it tells you nothing whatsoever about your ceiling height, your insulation or your climate.

Third, the circuit. A 115 V unit can frequently use a circuit that already exists; a 230 V unit needs a run from the panel, and on a panel with nothing spare that is the start of a much larger job. Both voltages are stated on almost every listing and the consequence is stated on none of them.

Fourth and fifth, the conditions under which the unit suits and the conditions under which it does not — both derived from published specifications rather than from an opinion. Sixth, what the listing claims and, as importantly, what it leaves out.

What these guides are not

They are not reviews. Nothing here has been mounted, charged, or run through a summer, and no unit on this site has been assessed by anyone holding an HVAC licence. There is no score, no ranking and no best buy, because none of those can be produced honestly from listing text alone. What can be produced honestly is a comparison against every other listing in the same class, and that is what these pages are.

They are emphatically not a sizing service. The check on every guide divides one published number by another and compares the result with a rule of thumb; a real answer comes from a Manual J calculation that accounts for the building, and that is a professional’s job. Using these pages to pick a capacity would be using them for the one thing they are careful to say they cannot do.

They are also not a substitute for the class pages. If you are still deciding between 12,000 and 18,000 BTU, the class comparison is the better starting point — it shows the whole distribution rather than one point in it. These guides are for the stage after that, when the decision has narrowed to a particular unit.

Which units get a guide, and which do not

Not every listing in the corpus can carry one. A guide is worth writing only where the listing publishes enough to compare — eight or more of the figures these pages show — and a listing that states a BTU rating and little else produces a page that is mostly the words not stated. Those units are still in the finder and still counted in every class median on this site; they simply do not get a page of their own, because there would be nothing on it.

The corpus behind all of this holds 91 units. Coverage across them is better than on most of this network: a capacity figure appears on virtually every listing, as do an indoor noise figure, a supply voltage and a circuit type. A claimed coverage area appears on about three quarters, which is the figure that decides whether a guide can carry its sizing check at all, and a SEER2 rating on about four fifths. A unit that documents itself well is not thereby a better unit, but it is one you can make an informed decision about, and the difference between those two things is most of what this site exists to show.

Prefer to compare a whole class?

Computed from the corpus on 2026-08-29.